RSS

Gone but Never Forgotten – Erin Joy

07 Apr

Today, my niece Erin would have turned 38, but instead she’s forever 26. In these 11.5 years since she’s been gone from us, it’s been easier to grieve, and to remember the joys instead of the sorrows. She was a joy to me, and I still miss her every day.

We all probably have a loved one or several that we miss. I truly believe she’s in a better place, and that I will get to see her one day again, along with all of the others who’ve gone before us.

Bad things happen, but God is not behind them. Instead He weeps and grieves with us, gives the loved one a forever home, and holds us in the palm of His hand until we can walk and talk again.

Today I can stand up and tell you about a beautiful, talented, vibrant, and wise woman named Erin. I am a better person for having had her in my life. Because of her, I got my first tattoo. Because of me, she learned to love Pierce Brosnan. Because of her, I learned to love Heath Ledger. She was born on my half birthday, so we would celebrate each other’s half birthday when we celebrated our birthday. Easter is hard, because she and I would take turns giving each other an Easter basket filled with games, books, puzzles, and candy. She would do one year, and me the next.

Erin, her friend Lynn, and I became a trifecta of friendship. It’s because of this there are craft days in my life then and now, stories of snorting jingle bells from the back seat of my car, and that tattoo. Lynn and I are pretty sure that Erin is still present at craft days. We feel her presence and hear her laughter.

Erin, you are still loved, respected, and your cat Joy is well cared for. If Joy gets to see you again before me, I hope she is kind in her description of the diet I put her on and forcing her to be cuddled and loved.

Two friends in their mid-twenties. One standing, One sitting. One lives today, One is missed greatly. Signed, Gray tiger cat resting on a blanket and surrounded by yarn and yarn and more yarn is dark colors that cooridnate with the floral brown and red and moss couch.IMG_0017 Small

IMG_0020 for print dif

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 7, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Gone but Never Forgotten – Erin Joy

  1. Jean Bourner

    April 12, 2017 at 5:38 am

    thanks Kim this is beautiful  Mom

    From: Humor Happens To: mrsgrandmajb@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, April 6, 2017 10:25 PM Subject: [New post] Gone but Never Forgotten – Erin Joy #yiv7873877207 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7873877207 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7873877207 a.yiv7873877207primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7873877207 a.yiv7873877207primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7873877207 a.yiv7873877207primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7873877207 a.yiv7873877207primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7873877207 WordPress.com | Humor Happens posted: “Today, my niece Erin would have turned 38, but instead she’s forever 26. In these 11.5 years since she’s been gone from us, it’s been easier to grieve, and to remember the joys instead of the sorrows. She was a joy to me, and I still miss her every day. ” | |

     

Leave a Reply

 
GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

