RSS

Happy Thanksgiving 2015

26 Nov

Wishing you a joyous Thanksgiving! There is so much to be thankful for, and I’m praying there is much for you to give thanks for as well. Keeping all in prayer who I know are not having the best holiday season.

A few things on my list this year:

  • Friends! So many good friends that I get to dine with, see movies with, travel to exotic places like Shipshewana with, craft with, talk with, sit in silence with, and celebrate life with.
  • Family! So many good people that are my relations, by blood and by choice.
  • Faith! Although I’m sluggishly making it through a 24-week Bible Study, I am glad for the opportunity to worship, read the Bible anywhere and anytime, and enjoy fellowship with my faith family.
  • Fur! I wear the fur in my world with joy, because it means that I have furry friends and family to bring so much love and joy. Although my two best girls passed on this year, my mom’s cat Joy and I are bonding nicely (and she’s biting less now that she’s getting more attention – score!).
  • Seasons! Although the cold and snow is a frustrating pain, I love the smaller bugs and lesser snakes it provides in this Great Lakes State.
  • Working! Employment is a good thing, no matter if it means I must arrive before I’m awake.
  • Grief! Yep, I’ve come to realize in this 10th year since my nice Erin passed, 11th year since my dad passed, and 20th year since my sister Cheri passed that the pain of losing them is definitely better than not having ever been blessed to know them. I couldn’t bear my migraines so well without having witnessed my sister’s endurance of epilepsy. My dad was a remarkable person, and I wouldn’t know the best possible life to live without him. My niece Erin was joy, and for her I know how to have fun. There are so many more who have passed that have taught me so much, and I know that I will one day be re-united with all of them. So the pain today, is worth the joy of yesterday and tomorrow.
  • Joy! Sure, there are things in life that suck, but I choose to concentrate on the joy. Perhaps I’m a bit of a Polly Anna (did I even spell that right?), but it sure keeps me functioning to live life in that way. The table is set for Thanksgiving with china plates, silverware, autumn leaf napkins, a floral arrangement with a candle in the center, a gallon of cider, and quite the long, long table.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

