RSS

At Meijer, No Less!

03 Nov

This evening I was shopping at Meijer grocery store, mostly for the 10 for $10 items. As I was walking through the store, I passed the baby food isle. I’m sure I’ve done this at least a half dozen times since September 11th. But tonight, it hit me. I don’t need to go down that isle anymore.

But I want to go down that isle! That would mean that my Daffodil and Daisy silly kitties would be here and needing extra special food available in that isle. I would still have their cuddles, snuggles, and bundles of love. Anyhow, shopping took longer than usual, since I tend to run into everyone in Meijer at one time or another. I didn’t want to do so with tears racing down my face.

Fortunately, no one I knew was roaming around the car parts, sporting goods, or lighting in the back rows of the store. I was able to pull myself together and make it back to the front of the store in order to go through the cash registers so I could come home. Thank goodness our Joy kitty pretended that she was on the brink of absolute starvation so that I could concentrate of taking care of her. Also good that I don’t give her a full serving until I talk with mom to verify if she was due a full serving. (She was not due a full serving of food – hugs yes, crunchies no.) I’ve never met a cat that didn’t lie to get extra meals. Nor one who didn’t talk back nastily if I called them on it.

Finally, after a few hours, the sadness I felt was replaced by joy that I got to know these girls. The joy that they were loved thoroughly. The joy that no two cats are the same, and their uniqueness remains in my heart. May you know this joy in your life. Today’s pain is worth every moment of their lives.

Daisy and Daffodil, diluted calico kitties with white bellies, lounging on the floor and playing with a Target re-usable shopping bag.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “At Meijer, No Less!

  1. sqckr@hotmail.com

    November 3, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    It hits hard for quite a while, usually sneaking up on us at the most mundane times. We remember them so clearly at those times, which is a blessing and a curse. I am glad you have

    Sent by Outlook for Android

     

Leave a Reply

 
GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

