RSS

Little Green Balls of Death

23 Jan

Things change as I age. Some get better, and some worse. One thing that changes is my enjoyment of certain foods. I’ve never been a fan of lemons, but the older I get, the more adamant I get that the flavor is icky. Other things get better. After a family dinner where an excellent cook brought a dish of Brussels Spouts, I tried them because they had interesting seasoning and pine nuts. Since then, I have fallen for those mini cabbages with a much stronger flavor.

Two years ago when I took a picture of them at a market, I felt that the little sign labeling them “Little Green Balls of Death” was 100% accurate. Today, I am buying them and trying different recipe’s (within my repertoire of four ingredients or less).

Today, I am thankful for…

  1. My mom who told me to try it, even if you don’t think you’ll like it, every time it is served.
  2. My family for growing a luscious garden.
  3. My God for giving us fun and weird green things to eat. He definitely has a sense of humor.

Brussels Sprouts with a sign that says "Little Green Balls of Death"

Brussels Sprouts in a pan being prepared and a side dish of nuts to include in the dish.

A dinner plate with the sprouts, ham, and mashed potatoes with cheese on them. Dinner is done, stick a fork in it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

