RSS

Jealousy: A Tool for my Workbench

18 Jan

I was hoping to have a positive post for today, but there is this painful, breath-stealing, gaping hole in my heart. Sometimes it takes up my whole being, and I cannot breath. Other times, it’s just turns me into a vegetable, and I forget what is going on around me. It’s the same when each loved one has passed. Dad, sister, niece, aunts, uncles, cousins, friends… Eventually it will dim, but that’s not today.

However, there is one bit of humor that I’d like to share about Miss Daisy. Jealousy gave her a longer life.

You see, there was a jealous streak in that girl four times the length of her body. Personally, I’ve always felt that with any number of cats, each deserves equal time of love and affection, equal food, and equal quality care. Daisy was an excellent moderator of my time. Too much with her sister, neveryoumind with the two younger feline interlopers in our home, and I would first be warned. If I didn’t heed that warning, I would pay.

How did this keep her with me longer in the end? Simple: what her sister had, she believed that she needed. Within the first week of diagnosis, Daisy quit going to their elegant dining area on my dresser (raised dishes, table-cloth, and such). She would only eat when food was offered to her. For the first week of this new reality, she ate well, so long as it was offered. From that second week of this new lifestyle on, not so much. There was much coaxing going on.

No push was needed though, if the sisters were together and I gave them each a dish. Daisy might wait for Daffodil to determine it edible, but that was all it took. She would eat again with gusto, making sure to eat as much or more than Daffodil. Seriously! She watched the bowls to see which had less food!

The jealousy even showed me how much she wanted attention, no matter how bad she felt. If I was laying it bed at night and had been petting Daisy for a long while, but felt I should then pet Daffodil for a while, Daisy would let me know when it had been long enough petting Daffodil, and I needed to return my attention to Daisy. My girls aren’t big talkers, but Daisy spoke quite loudly and clearly when it was her turn.

As you can see from this true tale, jealousy kept her here longer. It also allowed her more quality, because there is no quality of life without food and water. Her quality will no longer be called into question from hence forth. I also hope that in Heaven, there is no jealousy. But man, it sure was a big part of her personality here on earth, and it kept me in check!

00000714 Daffodil & Daisy Eating 1999

Who has more room?

IMG_6958 SIGNED

The glare in the eyes is either from me taking too many photos or that one or the other is done sharing the same chair.

IMG_0109 SIGNED

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

