RSS

Gifts Given

14 Jan

About four or five years ago, a dear friend taught me to crochet. At first, I used every swear word I knew (and learned a few extra too) to explain how miserable this nasty craft was making me. I could only make triangles, and the work was so tight, the smallest of ants could not squeeze through it without certain death.

However, after a few more much-needed lessons, I fell in love with it. In the last few years, I made about ten scarves. I decided in November that I would give them away to my immediate family for Christmas as I’d been hoping to do from the beginning, so I needed 18. I could do it if I worked diligently in these last few weeks before Christmas.

What you see under this tree below is four or so shy of the end goal. I achieved those as well and was able to give each family member a truly unique gift. I say truly unique because although I try my best to follow the general, and very simple pattern, each has mistakes, which I prefer to call “personalization” or unique aspects that make each a custom work of art. Some works of art are even different widths throughout or wider at one end than another! How spectacular am I?

A Chrstmas Tree with numerous scraves of varying colors and width displayed beneath it. The tree is decorated for Christmas.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

