RSS

Terminal

10 Dec

It’s official. Today I became the mom of my second terminally ill kitty. The first was earlier this year when Daffodil was diagnosed with Kidney disease. Today, a tumor was found to take over more than half of one of Daisy’s lungs. She may have days, weeks, or months, but in the meantime, I have her and her sister with me.

On January 30, 1999, two adorable and feral kitties entered our home, our lives, and our hearts. They were healthy, happy, and humbled to be given everything a girl could want: three squares a day, a roof over their heads (with a comfy bed beneath them), and unending human devotion.

Now, they are on the other end of life. They still have a home with plenty of soft surfaces, a loving family, and three squares are offered daily. But now they don’t always feel able to eat, they enjoy the soft surfaces more than ever before, and they need the love to make the illnesses tolerable.

One blessing for me is that I have the ability to pray and decide when to end their suffering. I pray that I will do so without being selfish. In the meantime, I am going to love them even more than I already have. I am going to enjoy every moment with them. I am going to offer them whatever food options I can get them to eat.

They are worth the journey. I pray you have love in your life that is worth the journey.

Moral of the Story: From ashes to ashes and dust to dust, make the middle time worth the while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

