RSS

Lent – Day 3, March 7, 2014

12 Mar

Today’s Lenten act is to share a tool that I used today from my life’s toolbox.

Of course, my mind goes to the box in the garage with wrenches, hammers, files, and wire cutters.

But then I wonder if they mean the toolbox for crafting, such as scissors, tweezers, adhesives, and wire cutters.

Or is it the specific craft of beading, which contains pliers, vises, scoops, and wire cutters.

But then I realized they meant the tools of my mind. Not the wire cutters I so enjoy wielding.

I learned today that one of my beloved pets is dying of kidney failure. There are many treatments available, but most involve poking with needles, prodding with medications, and having her stay at the vet’s office.

I’ve been here before. Many years ago, another cat in my care suffered from kidney failure. She endured three years of treatment, mostly because she was so very young when it reared its ugly head. In the end, I continued forcing her to eat to survive. I was wrong. She suffered, and I feel it was more so due to my need for her to live. I believe in the afterlife, she’s forgiven me. I feel it. I beat myself up with guilt for years, and she’s brought me peace.

This particular kitty is not 5 years old at diagnosis, but she is 15 and a half. She is also not in the early stages of the disease, but extreme and advanced. I refuse to make this kitty endure medical misery nor forced feeding in her end of days. The choice is hers to eat and drink. I will continue to make the offers, but I am not forcing anything when her comfort zone is home with family and friends who love her.

She is in bed with me at night, as usual. She is in the living room with me during the day, as usual. She still uses her litter box like a proper, gentle lady. She is drinking far less and refusing to eat hardly any of the concoctions I provide (most recommended by the vet, some are her favorites).

So long as she is content, she will remain. Once that content is gone, there may be one last trip to the vet.

My tool today is compassion for her and not selfishness for me. Today’s tool is more difficult to use than the wire cutters that are so comfortable and easy to use in my hand.

IMG_0045 Sign

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Lent – Day 3, March 7, 2014

  1. Kit

    March 13, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    Kim, This is beautifully written. I hope Daffodil’s remaining days with you are as peaceful for all as possible.

     
  2. Humor Happens

    March 13, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    Thank you, Kit. We went in for a checkup today, and her numbers are very good. She’s probably got 2 months to 1 year with us. It didn’t feel like we would have that long last week. I’m so glad she’s doing better.

     

Leave a Reply

 
GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

