RSS

Golden Flavor

22 Sep

This photo was taken way back in October of 2009. That was another great year for apples. A bit too much of a good thing based on this image of a weighed down branch from a Golden Delicious apple tree. No matter the size, the taste is worth more than its weight in gold!

Although Michigan apples are edible in September, many varieties are not available until October. One of these is the Golden Delicious. There is a fun children’s story about how these came to be. A copy is available at the Kalamazoo Public Library, titled Golden Delicious: A Cinderella Apple Story by Anna Egan Smucker with illustrator Kathleen Kemly.

Over the years my taste in apples (and food in general) has changed. As a child, I preferred the Red Delicious apples. Here’s a story about that from Kindergarten:

“What’s your favorite apple?” said the little boy.

“Red Delicious,” said I.

“No, I mean your favorite type of apple,” said the little boy.

“Red Delicious,” said I.

“No, I know they are all red, but what kind do you like?” said the little boy.

“They are not all red. My favorite is Red Delicious.” said I.

“NO! There are many kinds. What is your favorite?” said the little boy.

“My favorite is Red Delicious. What is your favorite?” said I.

“I don’t know what kinds there are,” said the little boy.

“Well, some that my brother sells are Golden Delicious, it’s yellow; Greenings, those are green; and here are a few reds: MacIntosh, Red Delicious, Northern Spy, Courtland, Winesap, Paula Red, Snow, …”

He never questioned my knowledge of fruit or farming again.

IMG_0063 Sign

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

