RSS

Seek and You May Find: A Happy Tail

30 Jun

Today’s post was to be different, but my night took a twist.

Tonight was the township’s fireworks display. I walked out to see them, back by the gardens. I could see them well, so I called my brother asking if he’d like to watch them with me. He said he’d seen them, but his dog Lucy was missing. He’d been searching for an hour, and there was no sign of her.

I walked to his house and offered to help. After some discussion, we agreed to take both trucks and leave one out where he’d last seen her. That was way back in one of his orchards. He’d spent the evening hand thinning some of his fruit trees, and she’d been with him.

By the time we got the trucks out there and he opened his door, Lucy walked right up to him! Now I know he will sleep well, she was just frighted first by someone with gunfire earlier and later by the fireworks, and that she will come when she feels safe to the sound of the truck.

I know this isn’t every pet care giver’s outcome. I know the lost are not always found. My heart goes out to all who have endured seeking with no finding.

But tonight, we give thanks. As soon as he told me the situation, I began to pray. That praying has not ended, because now I give thanks.

Morale of the Story: It’s worth the effort. When a loved one is in need, taking the time to do whatever you are able, especially if it’s praying, it IS worth it. Do what you are able, where you are able.

IMG_4416 Lucy Short

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

