RSS

Grandma’s Fun

18 Jun

My mother’s mother was my most treasured friend as a child. Grandma loved me unconditionally, and that’s a good thing, because I wasn’t always the sweetest little thing (just like all children everywhere – thank goodness they’re cute!).

I remember many happy adventures with my grandma as a child. One was seeing the movie “Jungle Book” at the State Theater. If I’d been there before, I don’t remember it. What I remember is seeing a fun movie with festive music in an awe inspiring theater. I also remember that I got to sit between my mom and my grandmom.

Saturday my mom and I had a tour of the building and at the end were serenaded by our tour guide. We even spoke with the gentlemen who manages all of those heavy stage curtains – that was fascinating! The history of the place is interesting, and it was fascinating to see back stage. It was a memorable time with mom. What I don’t recall with grandma was if we ate out as well, if we had popcorn, or if we walked around downtown. What I remember is a feeling of love. The same as today with mom.

Morale of the Story: So many memories are emotion based. I am thankful to treasure these good ones. What are some of yours?

IMG_5888 Sign

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

