RSS

Harriet: Heaven Shines Brighter

31 Jan

When I hear, “Treasures in Heaven”, I think of the loved ones who have gone there before me. The treasure will be to reunite with them. Last week, the light in Heaven went up a notch or two when Harriet arrived at the gate.

Harriet is one of the many women in my church whom I consider a grandmother. Her light on earth could not be dimmed. She endured the bad and shared the good. As with most of us, her health was not always as good as desired. No matter, she lived her life with grace, dignity, and faith.

When I would ask on Sunday after worship how she was doing, she’d often reply, “I am here today.” She lived in the moment. Each day was a gift and each person in her life was a blessing. I wrote a tale of her on this blog a couple of years ago, and I’ll share it again. It just goes to show that some people have to get REALLY old before they get old at all:

“I was walking out of church with a woman in her 80’s. She was taking notes. I was in my 30’s. I was taking notes.

“She then says to me, “Ever since my stroke, I have to take notes to remember upcoming events and prayer requests.”

“Ummm, I’ve been taking notes to remember such things since I was in my teens!

“Morale of the Story: Some of us have the mental capacity of a stroke victim … without benefit of a medical condition.”

Harriet was a blessing to know, a living inspiration, and I will greatly miss her in the flesh. Yet, I will hold her in my heart always. In spirit, she lives on.

Morale of the Story: Death is not the end, it is another beginning with peace of mind, heart, and body.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Harriet: Heaven Shines Brighter

  1. Stacy @ Living as Stacy

    January 31, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about Harriet. Even though I was young I remember her be a staple at church.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Accidental Minister

A spiritual but religious WordPress.com site

Ex-Mana Book Group

"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." Groucho Marx

The Mitrailleuse

'And things will fall with great force from above, which will give us nourishment and light.' - Leonardo

